Breaking Through Your Own Glass Ceiling: Unlocking Your Full and Hidden Potential With Your Master Key

At the time I initially started writing this book I had been on a soap box crying out about the inequities as it related to women in the work-place and women in business for a good part of my life. Many of the people that I had spoken to would refer to this inequity as the proverbial “glass ceiling.” What I observed year over year from listening to real stories from real women who did not experience parity in the workplace or as it related to growing their small businesses was seemingly like a glass ceiling. In fact, I too was struggling to run my small business and not being afforded opportunities afforded men.

But when I started talking to both men and women about the original title: “It’s A Man’s World: How Successful Women Win In It,” I got push back from both men and, surprisingly, from women too. They seemed to point out that in fact, although there were inequities still around the globe related to the “glass ceiling” that what they identified was their own self-imposed limitations that stopped or blocked them from achieving success. Yes, it was, in part, the women themselves that stood in their way of success. Aha! There it was, the truth, or at the very least a part of my truth. After dwelling on the possibility that there might just be something to the notion that our own blocks might be at the helm of the “glass ceiling” problem I began to work on my mind-set, specifically working on having the courage to ask for what I wanted in business, leadership, love and life and what do you know, I got more than I expected.

As an example, when I briefly worked at a bank I invited both men and women to the table for loans and yep, men showed up in large number and only a few women found their way to the same opportunity. I had in fact invited more women than men as I know more women than men, but it was the men who came in with very little convincing and consequently they transacted tens of thousands of dollars more. The excuses ranged from “I’m not ready yet,” to “I’m not prepared yet, to “I’m not sure I have good enough credit,” and one woman even said, “I don’t have time as I have to get my nails done.” It was like the men and the women were in two different paradigms.

The timing for uncovering the truth couldn’t have been better. I was preparing to produce my first LIVE! Annual Women’s EmPOWERment Summit and I was an active female leader in the Seattle area. After discussing the topic with a radio host, Mike Siegal, he came up with a suggestion that the “glass ceiling” is a myth, and then everything fell into place. The title to this book became: “Breaking Through Your Own Glass Ceiling: Unlocking Your Full and Hidden Potential With Your Master Key (TM)”. Tada! My first goal to kick off 2020 was to put pen to paper and author my soul’s journey of “breaking through” my own self-limiting beliefs and to include feature stories from some of the women in my life.

“Breaking Through Your Own Glass Ceiling” is a shared memoir of dozens of women whose souls intersect min and in their own words they share their quest to “become master communicators, to speak pro-actively and to listen empathetically in ways that command respect and trust.”  (Marian York)

The stories encompass tragedy to triumph as told by all of us, my master teachers/mentors and mentees who have broken through their own glass ceilings with their master keys (modalities, mantras, lessons, teachings, sayings, and more) and that have helped unlock the jail to which they held the key.

“Breaking Through” is broken down into four parts: 1) business, 2) leadership, 3) love, and 4) life! Each chapter has a beautiful image and a powerful quote to open the chapter. Each part is not contiguous so that you can read any part of the book at any time. It will also include exercises to log or journal notes to self. The book begins with a dedication to my granddaughter Lilith who will carry on the torch when I leave this earth. It’s a story of empowering women, but men will benefit and contribute to it. The art has been licensed from the heirs of one of my favorite artists, Laurel Burch, who sadly passed away in her forty’s. Each chapter title is relatable. The quotes are iconic. The book also includes the work of Marian York, who sadly passed in 2007, and to whom I promised that I would keep her work alive in perpetuity and I’m finally going to get to live into that promise.

My launch party is also being planned to coincide with the LIVE! Annual Women’s EmPOWERment Summit 20/20 event in Seattle June 10, 2020. Save the date! There is a possibility that the Summit will naturally roll into a 3-day event. The Summit is an event that I have successfully produced in the years past. The goal this time around is to inspire an uprising of female empowerment by producing a decade of summits around the world beginning in Seattle where I reside.

My BIG wish is that Mel Robbins joins the journey as keynoter on this 10-city, 10-year journey! I am envisioning having the book and the Summit fully funded so that I may travel in March to Kowloon, just outside of Hong Kong, to print at a small shop that I visited in 2016 and to whom I promised that I’d be back to print my book. The Summit is for and about women’s change, choice and power! Jump into action to gain a powerful new attitude in business, leadership, love and life! Share what you are doing to empower women in your world by texting the word WOMEN to 555-888 so that I may support you in empowering women around the world! Here’s to one and all who may benefit from my life’s work!

Warmly,

Bettina

“Breaking Through Your Own Glass Ceiling: Unlocking Your Own Full & Hidden Potential With Your Master Key” is coming soon!
I’m still accepting short stories of 750 words or less. With your permission we may include and/or feature your story on our websites. Do you have a story of overcoming adversity to triumph to share?
Stay tuned…
Chapters Include (In no particular order):
Ask A Woman If She Feels Empowered In All Areas of Her Life … If She’s Honest, She’ll Likely Say, “No!” – Why?
“You Only Get In Life What You Have Courage To Ask For – Ask!”
When Life Gives You Time, Take It!
What’s About Me Is About Me…What’s About Your Is About You…What’s About Me Is Not About You…What’s About You Is Not About Me!
What Women Want!
Unlocking Your Full & Hidden Potential With Your Master Key
The Power of Your Story…The Power of Branding U!
Done Is Better & More Profitable Than Perfect
Getting What’s Close To Your Heart, Closer To Your The Money
The Power Of The Magic Word, “No”
Teach What You Most Need To Learn
What You Focus On Grows
Be The Love To Open The Door To His/Her Heart
“What You Do With Your Money Is What You Do With Your Power”
“What Do You Have To Put Down In Order To Pick Up Something Bigger”
Do It or Delegate It
Dreams Are A Wish Your Heart Makes To Yourself – Dream BIG!
Awakening Is A Choice
Darling You Can Do Both
Awareness Comes First – Wake Up To The Present Moment, It’s All That Truly Exists
The Power of Presence, Energy, Intention & Commitment
Shiny Pebbles
What You Do With Your Money Is What You Do With Your Power
Get Rid Of The Junk In Your Trunk
The Strongest Cards You Have Are The One’s You Haven’t Played
F.E.A.R (False, Evidence, Appearing, Real) – Sometimes Your Greatest Strength is Your Greatest Fear
Begin With The End In Mind
Everything Happens For A Reason
We Are All Connected – Dream BIG, Break Through & Connect With Powerful People
Be The Change
Women of Influence Mentoring Women
Men of Influence Mentoring Women
Take Your Complaint To The Person Who Is In A Position To Say Yes
Give People What They Want
“The Person That Knows Better Has To Do Better”
Making A Choice Minimizes Worry Because Worry Lives In In-Decision
Don’t Listen To Their Words, Listen To Their Heart
Home Is Where You’re The Happiest
Go Where You Are Celebrated, Not Just Tolerated
A Purpose Driven Life Is A Good Life
Marrying Your Passion With Profit
Forgive Yourself! Forgive Others! And, When Possible Forget!
Remember, Busyness Is Not A Business Activity
“When You Are On The Right Path,The Universe Conspires To Help You”
To Do Epic Shit You Need An Epic Belief In Yourself
There’s The Thing You Do For A Living. Then There’s The Thing You Were Born To Do. Dream To Make Them One And The Same!
Nothing Kills A Dream Faster Than Running Out of Fuel …Keep Your Day Job
Strategy Trumps Pretty Marketing Any Day Of The Week
Vision Without Action Is Merely A Dream. Action Without Vision is Passing The Time. With Vision & Inspired Action You Can Change the World!” – Inspired by Joel A. Barker
“When You Know Better, You Do Better” – Inspired by Maya Angelou
From Trauma To Triumph
“Ignore The Rain…Look For The Rainbow” – Inspired by Papyrus
“Do You Know How Special You Are?” – Inspired by Hallmark
When You Lack Faith…Borrow Someone Else’s – Inspired by Annonymous
You Can Never Outperform Your Own Self Image. Tell Yourself A Different Story. – Inspired by Janaki Severy
“I Never Had A Failure. I had Feedback…Take Learning & Transmute Into Something Good.” – Inspired by Edison
“Some Women Fear The Fire. Some Women Are The Fire” – Inspired by Shark Tank Guest
“If You Think You Can’t Or Can. Either Is True!” – Inspired by Ford
The Art of Intentional Manifestation – Inspired by Lauren Archer & Janaki Severy
Don’t Manage Your Time, Manage Your Mind – Inspired by Shanda Sumpter
Dream Big!
Awaken In Her Power – Inspired by Janaki Severy & Lauren Archer
Balance Equity & Define Fairness
Trust Your Intuition

Taking the Road Less Traveled

Be Like A Tree That Bends In The Wind – The Roots Of Wisdom Feed The Tree Of

Planning
Die To Truly Live
Eat To Live
To Begin Is To Start
Knowledge – Inspired by: Peter Pauper Press, Inc.
“Wax On Wax Off” – Inspired by Karate Kid
“You Do What You Don’t Want In Order To Do What You Dream To Do!” – Inspired by Oprah Winfrey
When Santa Claus Came To Town
Write It Down Make It Happen
Find Your Tribe

Leave a comment